Windows

How To Clear Recently Used Apps List In Windows 10 Start

Advertisements

The Windows 10 Start menu has been in the news ever since the update was released to the public last month. People have been fawning over it, criticizing it, and trying to change it to fit their needs. A few days back we covered the method to give Windows 10 Start menu the Windows 7 look and a guide on turning web results off in the Start menu search. The menu is so comprehensive that there is yet more room to tweak it. One feature of the Windows 10 Start menu that might not win accolades from many users is the prominently displayed list of recently opened apps. If you are a stickler for privacy, or are just using a shared computer, keeping a list of previously used apps might not be a good idea. Thankfully, there is a setting in Windows 10 that can help you clear and disable this list easily.

Many users might not realize that the Windows 10 Start menu offers a high level of customization. Users can even revert to the classic Start menu look if the expandable and wide UI does not appeal to them. The options to make these changes, and to clear the recently used apps list, is located in the stock Settings app. This is how to access it.

Clear Windows 10 Start Recently Used List

The App List Option in Windows 10 Start menu Settings

  1. Open the stock Settings app. This can be done by typing ‘Settings’ in the Start menu’s search box.
  2. Go to the menu marked ‘System settings’.
  3. Click ‘Personalization’.
  4. From the left-hand tab, click ‘Start’.
  5. Under the Start section of the Settings app, you will find all the options required to turn the logging of app usage completely off. The first toggle lets you clear history of most used apps. You won’t even see the section where this list was previously shown.
  6. To similarly disable and clear the recently used apps, switch the last toggle to off. This toggle should say “show recently opened items in Jump Lists on Start or the taskbar”.

Of course, you can turn the option back on any time you want. However, once disabled all the past usage data from this menu will be cleared for good.